The Finnish power metal band Burning Point had its share of line-up changes throughout their more than two decades of existence. The main constant though, mastermind/guitarist/songwriter Pete Ahonen, always kept the ship on route and his clear vision and artistic integrity made Burning Point one of the most reliable purveyors of excellent classic (European) power metal.

After handling the vocals on his own from the band’s foundation up until the arrival of Nitte Valo (ex-Battle Beast) in 2015, Ahonen and Burning Point return with new voice on the band’s new album “Arsonist Of The Soul”: Luca Sturniolo. Replacing Valo now, Sturniolo turns out to be quite a discovery. He was born in Italy but lives in Finland since many years. His powerful, varied voice is a perfect match for Ahonen’s fiery fretwork and strong, experienced songwriting.

Besides Ahonen, Sturniolo and Pekka Kolivuori, now Jarkko Poussu (bass, ex-member of Finnish thrash pioneers A.R.G.), Tuomas Jaatinen (drums) and Matti Halonen (Keyboards) have joined the band’s line-up.

“I am extremely happy about the new line-up and the new record. All the guys are very, very talented and excited!”, Ahonen comments.


1. Blast In The Past
2. Rules The Universe
3. Out Of Control (Savage Animals)
4. Persona Non Grata
5. Arsonist Of The Soul
6. Hit The Night
7. Running In The Darkness
8. Calling
9. Off The Radar
10. Fire With Fire
11. Will I Rise With The Sun
12. Eternal Life

Get your copy: HERE

Current members:

  • Luca Sturniolo – Vocals
  • Pete Ahonen – Guitars
  • Pekka Kolivuori – Guitars
  • Tuomas Jaatinen – Drums
  • Jarkko Poussu – Bass
  • Matti Halonen – Keyboards