Since they first started, Sorcerer have been labeled “epic doom” – a tag that fits but does not define them, and this has never been more evident than on their third full-length, Lamenting of The Innocent. This time around, the band let their influences shine through, breaking up the epic doom with flavors of prog, post-metal, classic heavy metal and hard rock. The track “Deliverance” also features a guest appearance: Johan Langquist of Candlemass and renowned Swedish cellist Svante Henryson. Sorcerer comments: “They truly brought another dimension to that song and now it’s impossible to imagine it without their contributions, which is the way it should be when you bring guests in to perform; they are there to provide something you couldn’t do on your own.”



Sorcerer adds: “We play music that relates to when we grew up, with bands like Rainbow, Black Sabbath, Iron Maiden and such. They are all influences and we like to build that dramatic touch into our music. It’s important for us to create a feeling in the song that will take you, maybe, to another world or a fantasy place somewhere, and the bands we grew up with are the masters of this. By the same token we are also influenced by more contemporary acts and their approach to arrangements and orchestration. Inspiration can come from anywhere, but we all know when we’ve captured that ‘Sorcerer sound’. It feels like home.” The album title itself is a reference to The Inquisition and witch crazes, both from a regular person’s point of view and that of the Church, and to the lamenting that occurred during a time of great oppression and terrorization. “We more or less dwelled on the human condition aspect, like the stages of grief or mourning. Denial, anger, bargaining, depression and acceptance. We thought this could be applied because the witch craze was, in a sense, a mass trauma on multiple individuals. We all have lost someone as well and felt it unfair or like it wasn’t happening. We kind of took from that on a personal level. By mixing the two, we think it gives an honest description of the circumstances.”


Lamenting Of The Innocent track-listing

1. Persecution (intro)
2. The Hammer of Witches
3. Lamenting of the Innocent
4. Institoris
5. Where Spirits Die
6. Deliverance
7. Age of the Damned
8. Condemned
9. Dance with the Devil
10. Path To Perdition
11. Hellfire (Bonus Track – only available on Digipak CD)

Get your copy of Sorceror – Lamenting Of The Innocent – HERE.


Sorcerer line-up:
Anders Engberg – vocals
Kristian Niemann – guitars
Peter Hallgren – guitars
Justin Biggs – bass
Richard Evensand – drums


Stay safe, stay healthy and wash your hands