The final step to album release has been done last Friday, when Swedish metal band Evergrey put out their third single “Where August Mourns”. This band is well known for their great musicianship and epic sound that takes hold of you, like it does during this inspiring progressive metal song. Tom Englund’s ingratiating voice and the captivating guitars let you flow on the melancholic clouds into progressive heaven.

As for calling the new album “Escape Of The Phoenix” (release date: February 26th), it wasn’t a title dreamed up out of desperation to find something that sounds cool. As with everything Englund does, he had a very clear concept in mind.

“When you talk about the resurrection of the phoenix, that started a mindgame for me,” Englund reveals. “What if the bird doesn’t want to be resurrected? What if it doesn’t want to come back? That sort of resembles things in life; sometimes you get tired of standing up and being strong. I guess that was the main idea. It came to me after we’d finished writing the music.”


1. Forever Outsider
2. Where August Mourn
3. Stories
4. A Dandelion Cipher
5. The Beholder
6. In the Absence of Sun
7. Eternal Nocturnal
8. Escape of the Phoenix
9. You From You
10. Leaden Saints
11. Run


Tom S Englund – Vocals, Guitars
Henrik Danhage – Guitars
Rikard Zander – Keyboards
Jonas Ekdahl – Drums
Johan Niemann – Bass