As previously reported here at Stargazed Magazine, singer James Durbin has signed a multi-album deal with Frontiers Music Srl, under the moniker “Durbin”.

Hailing from Santa Cruz, California, Durbin appeared on Season 10 of American Idol, flying the flag for heavy metal and earning the approval and praise from the likes of Steven Tyler, Sammy Hagar, and Rob Halford.

Durbin has now unleashed a new single and music video, “The Prince Of Metal”. The song will be included on the album “The Beast Awakens” which is coming February 12, 2021. Once the songs were written and demoed by Durbin, he brought in the rhythm section of virtuoso drummer Mike Vanderhule (Y&T) and master bassist Barry Sparks (Ted Nugent, Scorpions, Dokken, B’z). With Durbin handling the album’s rhythm guitars, his core lineup was complete.

Watch the video here:


James Durbin – Vocals. Rhythm Guitars
Jon Yadon Jr., Marc Putnam, Dylan Rose, & Nick Gallant – Guitars
Barry Sparks – Bass
Mike Vanderhule – Drums