Mark Spiro is an iconic American songwriter and an award winning producer, recording artist and musician, with a career that spans over two decades. Spiro is recognised as a leading melodic rock songwriter through recordings of his songs by Heart, Cheap Trick, Giant, Bad English, John Waite, Kansas, REO Speedwagon, Winger, Mike Reno (LoverBoy) and others.

Among Spiro’s many accomplishments are 45 Gold and Platinum Records, and nine solo albums. His songs and productions have been represented on records that have sold over 100 Million copies worldwide. He has written for Julian Lennon, the multi-platinum country star Lila McCann and the Latin acts Luis Miguel and Emmanuel. In addition, he has produced songs by Anne Murray, Laura Branigan, John Berry, Maria Conchito Alonso and the new artist Ruby Summer.

Spiro is currently working on a new solo album but in the mean time, “2+2 = 5: Best of + Rarities” will be released through Frontiers on July 10th. The compilation encompasses the best of Spiro’s solo material starting from “Now Is Then, Then is Now”, originally released in 1996, until “It’s a Beautiful Life”, released in 2012.

As a special treat for the discerning and passionate melodic rock fans, the album includes 13 unreleased songs which also includes collaborations with Dann Huff (Giant), Michael Thomson (MTB) and Tim Pierce.  Songwriting collaborators also include Jim Vallance (Bryan Adams, Aerosmith) and Jason Derlatka.




1. All The Love We Kill
2. Wind On The Water
3. Better With A Broken Heart
4. Don’t Leave Me In Love
5. Vendetta
6. Through My Eyes
7. Mid Western Skies
8. My Devotion
9. Valdez
10. The Rain Came Tumblin’ Down
11. The Rhythm Of Your Soul
12. Can’t Take That Away (Stuff Version)

1. I’ll Be There
2. King Of The Crows
3. When Winter Comes
4. It’s A Beautiful Life
5. Come Back To Me
6. Mighty Blue Ocean
7. Monster
8. Between The Raindrops
9. The Fisherman 3
10. Wheels May Rust
11. A Beautiful Mistake
12. Love Don’t Come Around Here

1. Take Your Time
2. Holding You
3. Cry Me A River
4. Leave My Heart Alone
5. By The Riverside
6. Watching Over Me
7. 24 Hours A Day
8. Broken Home
9. Whirling Dervish
10. Whenever I Remember
11. Feels Like
12. When You Were Nothing
13. Screaming Like A Crow