As previously reported here at Stargazed Magazine, UK Grindcore pioneers Napalm Death will release their upcoming studio album, “Throes of Joy in the Jaws of Defeatism”, on September 18th, 2020.

The first single off the upcoming album is “Backlash Just Because”.
Watch the lyric video by Cloud Music Typography here:


Mark ‘Barney’ Greenway comments: “This song in particular really spurred me on when I was writing lyrics for the album overall. It’s raucous and traditional, but also quirky and discordant and ultimately catchy-as-anything in the context of rampaging noise. Lyrically it was directed at the spiteful art of creating easy targets and fomenting paranoia and revulsion, which is something that I feel has become de rigeur in very recent times. I really let loose on the more sporadic vocals at the end of the song – it’s a real barkfest at that point. Lovely.”


Napalm Death - Throes Of Joy In The Jaws Of Defeatism
Napalm Death – Throes Of Joy In The Jaws Of Defeatism

“Throes of Joy in the Jaws of Defeatism” track-listing:
1. Fuck the Factoid
2. Backlash Just Because
3. That Curse of Being in Thrall
4. Contagion
5. Joie De Ne Pas Vivre
6. Invigorating Clutch
7. Zero Gravitas Chamber
8. Fluxing of the Muscle
9. Amoral
10. Throes of Joy in the Jaws of Defeatism
11. Acting in Gouged Faith
12. A Bellyful of Salt and Spleen

The pre-order for “Throes of Joy in the Jaws of Defeatism” in its various formats is starting today.

Next to the Jewelcase CD edition of the album, “Throes of Joy in the Jaws of Defeatism” will also be available as Digital album and as limited Mediabook CD (+ Patch) with 3 bonus-tracks: “Feral Carve-up”, “White Kross” (Sonic Youth cover-version) and “Blissful Myth” (Rudimentary Peni cover-version). The vinyl version of the album will include a double-sided A2 poster and the bonus-track “Air’s Turned Foul in Here” in the following 180g. variations and limitations:

Vinyl Europe:

  • Black LP – Unlimited
  • “Colour is of no concern” LP (creamy white vinyl) – 200x copies from CM Webshop
  • “All that glitters is not enriching” LP (golden vinyl) – 400x copies from CM Distro
  • “Era of dazzling indifference” LP (neon orange vinyl) – 200x copies from EMP
  • “The cold shoulder of isolationism” LP (transp. blue vinyl) – 200x copies from Nuclear Blast
  • “See right through you” LP (clear vinyl) – 300x copies from Napalm Death

Vinyl USA:

  • Black LP – Unlimited
  • “Germicidal yellow swirled vinyl” – 250x copies from CM Webshop
  • “Stressed sanguine blood smear vinyl” – 500x copies from Indie Stores
  • “Mucus with envy swirled vinyl” – 250x copies from Revolver Magazine
  • “De-weaponised steel and black swirled vinyl” – 200x copies from Decibel Magazine


Napalm Death line-up (from left to right): Shane Embury , Mark ‘Barney’ Greenway, Danny Herrera.