A year has passed since the release of Refused’s fifth full-length album “War Music” (read our review at Stargazed Magazine HERE). Now the hook-laden, political post-hardcore punk act have announced they will release a new EP, “The Malignant Fire”, on November 20th. The EP will contain “Malfire” off the latest album, one cover and three brand new tracks.

Vocalist Dennis Lyxzen comments: “There are certain traditions within the Refused camp and one of the sturdiest is the idea that after every album there comes an EP. This time however I think that we outdid ourselves. “Malfire” is my favorite song off the record so it’s more than fitting that we shine some extra light on that. This EP was supposed to be something that was released before a tour but in these weird times that tour never happened. However, this still a great EP that follows a great record. More than ever, we need music to lead the way when things are the darkest. Here’s a little attempt from us.”

Covering EDM legends Swedish House Mafia’s hit “Greyhound” might seem a bit out of the ordinary, but Refused crafted lyrics for the otherwise instrumental track, and along with the video, have crafted a Refused version called “Born On The Outs” in typical, catchy Refused fashion. Watch the video for “Born On The Outs” here:

“The Malignant Fire” tracklisting:
1. Malfire
2. Born On The Outs
3. Organic Organic Organic (Go Fuck Yourself)
4. Faceless Corporate Violence
5. Jackals Can’t Be Bothered To Dream

Pre-order the EP HERE.