RIAN: Richard Andermyr (vocals, guitar), Jan Johansson (drums), Jonas Melin (bass), Tobias Jakobsson (lead guitar)

As previously reported here at Stargazed Magazine, the Swedish melodic rock combo Rian has signed a multi-album deal with Frontiers Music Srl.

“Music is all about creating feelings. On this album we wanted to give credit to the desperate feeling we got listening to music when we were much too young to understand it,” says vocalist/guitarist Richard Andermyr. 

Produced by Daniel Flores (Find Me, The Murder Of My Sweet), the band’s sophomore album, “Twenty-Three,” will be released on July 16, 2021.

A video has just been released for the single “Stop”. Watch it here:

Andermyr continues, “I wrote the song ‘Stop’ in my living room, changing between acoustic guitar and my old upright piano. With the band, Janne just had to add that cowbell, Jonas came up with this cool bass riff, and Tobbe went crazy on the strat. In the studio, Daniel filled in the blanks on the keys. Seriously, all this stuff lifted the song from a nice rock track to the first single of the album.”

The sound can be explained as a modern version of classic melodic rock music, the way it was produced in the second half of the 80’s. The sound is American, but the melodies and chord progressions have very strong Swedish roots. Influences such as Bon Jovi, Dokken, Europe, Queensryche, Survivor, and Winger can be heard in the sound, but Richard Andermyr explains that there’s also more modern vibes in the vein of Alter Bridge. RIAN released their debut album “Out Of The Darkness” in July 2017.

1.  Stop
2.  In The Dark
3.  Where Do We Run
4.  Twenty-Three
5.  For Your Heart
6.  We Belong
7.  My Ocean
8.  Body And Soul
9.  The Passenger
10. Stranger To Me
11. Your Beauty