The Doors guitarist Robby Krieger is about to release his first solo album in ten years. “The Ritual Begins At Sundown” is his ninth solo album and will be out on August 14th, 2020.

Robby has now launched a visualizer video for the track “Hot Head” off the upcoming album. Watch the video here:


The 10 song instrumental album was recorded at his own Horse Latitudes Studio in LA with his co-writer and co-producer Arthur Barrow (Bass), who he has been working with since the mid-70s. Barrow worked with Frank Zappa through the 1970s-80s and has also worked with a number of artists form Giorgio Moroder, Joe Cocker, Billy Idol, Diana Ross and Janet Jackson as well as working on movie soundtracks such as Top Gun, Scarface ,The Twilight Zone, Neverending Story and Breakfast Club. The album also features other Zappa alumni Jock Ellis (Trombone), Sal Marquez (Trumpet), Tommy Mars (Keys) and Chad Wackerman (Drums) as well as AeB Byrne (Flute), Vince Denham (Sax), Chuck Manning (Sax) and Joel Taylor (Drums).

“The Ritual Begins At Sundown” track list:
1. What Was That?
2. Slide Home
3. The Drift
4. Chunga’s Revenge
5. Hot Head
6. Yes, The River Knows
7. The Hitch
8. Dr Noir
9. Bianca’s Dream
10. Screen Junkie