Yngwie Malmsteen will release his next album, ‘Blue Lightning’, through Mascot Records/Mascot Label Group on March 29, 2019.

This will be a bluesy album with cover songs: Purple Haze, Foxey Lady (both by Jimi Hendrix, whose Little Miss Lover will be available as bonus track), Smoke On The Water, Demon’s Eye (both by Deep Purple), Paint It Black (by the Rolling Stones, whose Jumping Jack Flash is also a bonus track), Blue Jean Blues (ZZ Top), While My Guitar Gently Weeps (The Beatles) and Forever Man (Eric Clapton). The album also featurs four original songs. Watch the lyrics video for “Sun’s Up Top’s Down” below:

“I have always played around with old songs, both live and also in the studio. I did a similar album called ‘Inspiration’ a while ago (1996), and it was Mascot who came to me and suggested I do a blues record. “Now, I grew up in a classically trained family, and people know me for playing in what is called a neo classical style. But when I got a guitar for my fifth birthday, what I would try to emulate were John Mayall & The Bluesbreakers – I would jam along to what they did on record with Eric Clapton (‘Bluesbreakers With Eric Clapton’ album). That’s something people don’t realize about me – I do have a strong interest in the blues. So, when Mascot came to me with the suggestion of doing an album of songs in this style, it didn’t faze me at all. In fact, it seemed so natural.”


Yngwie Malmsteen - Blue Lightning
Yngwie Malmsteen – Blue Lightning

1. Blue Lightning
2. Foxey Lady
3. Demon’s Eye
4. 1911 Strut
5. Blue Jean Blues
6. Purple Haze
7. While My Guitar Gently Weeps
8. Sun’s Up Top’s Down
9. Peace, Please
10. Paint It Black
11. Smoke On The Water
12. Forever Man

Available formats:
Blue 2LP + MP3 (w/ 2 bonus tracks)
Limited Lightning Blue marble 2LP + MP3 (w/ 2 bonus tracks) (webshop exclusive)
CD Box set
CD Jewel