On 6 September 2019, Status Quo will release “Backbone” through earMUSIC/Edel; the band’s 33rd studio album. The band are also confirmed to perform at the huge BBC Radio 2 “Festival In A Day” show in Hyde Park on Sunday 15th September 2019.

Some doubters said “Backbone” was a record that not could be made, but the 2019 line-up of Status Quo has been through a lot, and as of today will have chalked up over 130 shows as a unit and travelled tens of thousands of miles. “Backbone” features of a trio songs drawn from the classic partnership of Rossi/Young as well as contributions from the rest of the band.

The eleven-track album was recorded at Francis’ studio in the late months of 2018 and into this year. The sessions were initially just to keep the juices flowing, improvise and have fun. Even from within the group, there had been some resistance to creating a new record. As Francis says: “This new material had to be seriously good. Quo have achieved so much and meant so much to too many people for the quality to slip now. Also, let’s face it, things have changed and we’re an easier target than ever. Losing Rick was hard to bear but, through Richie Malone, who was inspired to pick up a guitar by him, we can not only keep going but actually pick up the pace. The energy that he and Leon bring to Quo can’t be underestimated. I wasn’t sure I had another album in me but I couldn’t be more proud of “Backbone”. I hope the fans love it, but you can’t please everyone and I’m not going to start trying to now.”

01 Waiting For A Woman
02 Cut Me Some Slack
03 Liberty Lane
04 I See You’re in Some Trouble
05 Backing Off
06 I Wanna Run Away With You
07 Backbone
08 Better Take Care
09 Falling off The World
10 Get Out Of My Head
11 Running Out Of Time

“Backbone” will be available as a CD Jewelcase, Ltd. CD Digipak (incl. 2 bonus tracks), 180g Black Vinyl Gatefold, Strictly Limited Box-Set (incl. CD Digipak, Live Bonus-CD and a Status Quo Collector’s T shirt) and Digital.