Anubis Gate – Covered in Colours


Doing an album comprised of covers of other artists material is a game of two halves. Not only does the band/artist have to choose if they should go the “easy” route and stick as close to the originals as possible or put their own mark on it, they also have to consider what songs to perform, well knowíng that these songs will not be every listeners cup of tea. It really is a “no win” situation.

But let us start by picking apart the different parts of this well oiled machine. Anubis Gate is a danish progressive metal band of quite some renown and since their inception back in 2001 (then named Seven Powers) they have released seven studio albums and a compilation. The band, currently comprising of Kim Olsen (guitars and keyboards), Henrik Fevre (bass and lead vocals), Michael Bodin (guitars) and Morten Gade Sørensen (drums) decided that after the dark and intensively instrospective concept album “Covered in Black” that dealt with issues like mental health, they felt that they wanted to do a warmer and more positive record this time around.

They happened upon the idea of doing an album of covers by artists ranging from Slayer and Voivod to Coldplay. And by that we are up to date. So which way did they choose to go then, the safe way or the “putting-our-own-stamp-on-it-come-hell-or-high-water”?

Very much the latter and for that I´m thankful since I prefer it that way. Anubis Gate are all terrific players and arrangers and also have a very capable and skilled singer to carry off this task with aplomb. They have taken these songs, deconstructed them down to a molecular level and then rebuilt them into something new and unique. I can promise that you´ve never heard AC/DC´s “Back in Black” played like this, for an example. And it is beautifully done, with finesse and a love for the original material but with the courage and bloody mindedness of a band on top of their game.

I heartily recommend this record for its bravery, style and panache and I would like to single out lead singer Henrik Fevres versatile performance as a particular highlight. He is very good indeed. The only gripe I have is that some of the songs simply is not to my liking and that is hardly the bands fault. You should therefore ignore this grumpy old bastard and check this record out for yourself as it deserves to be discovered and treasured.

Rating: 7/10
Band: Anubis Gate
Title: Covered in Colours
Release Date: 24th of April 2020
Label: Nightmare Records
Duration: 74 minutes
Place of origin: Denmark
Standout tracks: Entangled, Still Life in Mobile Homes, Strawberry Fields Forever

1. Still life in Mobile Homes (by Japan)
2. Red (by King Crimson)
3. Plantage (by Under Byen)
4. Experiment (by Voivod)
5. Chromazone (by Mike Stern)
6. Glamour Profession (by Steely Dan)
7. Entangled (by Genesis)
8. Atlas (by Coldplay)
9. To France (by Mike Oldfield)
10. Fade to Grey (by Visage)
11. S.A.T.O. (by Ozzy Osbourne)
12. Aggressive Perfector (by Slayer)
13. Back in Black (by AC/DC)
14. Strawberry Fields Forever (by The Beatles)

Anubis Gate – Covered in Colours

May 16, 2020

I can promise that you´ve never heard AC/DC´s "Back in Black" played like this.

More exciting reading: